Dayton, Ohio is a city located in the western part of the state, about 50 miles northwest of Cincinnati. It has a rich history dating back to the early 19th century, when it was founded as a small settlement along the Great Miami River.

The city was named after Jonathan Dayton, one of the signers of the U.S. Constitution and a prominent politician in the early days of the country. Dayton was founded in 1796 and incorporated as a city in 1805.

During the early years of its history, Dayton was a transportation hub, with several major roads and the Miami and Erie Canal passing through the city. It was also an important center for manufacturing and innovation, with several major inventions and innovations being developed in the city.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Dayton was home to several major companies, including the National Cash Register Company and the Wright Brothers’ airplane company. These companies helped to drive the city’s economy and make it a hub of industry and innovation.